What would you wear for camouflage if you were hiding in a gingerbread house?

Answer: Royal Icing.

I found this in a post from an old blog I had written a few years ago. Today I am launching a new blog with a clear focus and reason. I have come far enough in my personal wine education to be able to hide out among the so called avowed and acknowledged wine experts and at least not stick out like a sore thumb. I can hold my own in those hoidy toidy conversations and know that some people who are paid quite a lot more than I for their expert knowledge just don’t know what they are talking about. Armed with this knowledge I am no longer intimidated by anyone in the wine business, from the producers (the people who actually grow the grapes and make the wine) to the various media wine experts. I now call myself a professional amateur expert. I know enough to share my knowledge with others and get paid for it but I did not grow up picking grapes on a vineyard. I didn’t go to UC Davis or the Culinary Institute of America, or study for the prestigious WSET (Wine and Spirits Education Trust), or any of the other professional course of study that would qualify me as an expert in the field of oenology (the science and study of all aspects of wine and and wine making), but I have studied. I am not a certified sommelier but I do know something about food and wine pairing and how to choose an appropriate wine in a wine shop, or from a restaurant wine list, and I can help you know that too. As an amateur expert I can provide information that is helpful for the beginning wine enthusiast,or wannabe. There is such a wealth of information today and resources available at your fingertips, while you are in the moment, trying to decide which wine to select for a dinner at a friend’s house that night.

So this is my introduction. I have conducted many tastings as an independent wine consultant, worked for an importer, wholesaler, and retailer, and have heard the same questions consistently and have an idea of some of the things people want to know first. I hope you will participate and add to the conversation, comment, question, challenge, or share your own wine experience.

About WiningWays

Wine writing, appreciation, and education, including tasting, evaluation, and food pairings a specialty. Member, Society of Wine Educators.
This entry was posted in Education and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What would you wear for camouflage if you were hiding in a gingerbread house?

  1. I have found this question inside blogger account setup. I searched that question on Google and came to your blog. Thanks for your explanation.

    ~Ray

Leave a Reply

