Wine Bloggers Conference Scholarship

So I’m still new to the whole blogging thing and social network marketing. The telltale sign if you ever receive one of my texts or tweets is that I still exercise the natural inclination to spell words out. As a writer I like the whole word and secretly fear the next generation’s ability to spell in real life versus their virtual lives. Is “prolly” really an acceptable abbreviation for “probably”? I know I still look like a newby on Twitter but I’m working on it.

It was on Twitter not too long ago, as I was working on building up my puny tweet count (as you can see I enjoy run-on sentences too!) that I learned about the upcoming North American Wine Bloggers Conference in Charlottesville, VA. A wine blogger whom I noticed lived not too far from me, @wineingwoman tweeted something about there being a scholarship to the conference. She had been awarded the scholarship the previous year. I decided to look into it. I applied, and go figure, I received one of 13 scholarships awarded for this year. This is the fourth annual conference and the first time it is being held on the east coast. Charlottesville, VA , in the foothills of the Blue-Ridge Mountains boasts a 200 year old tradition of vineyards and wineries, including the lands originally planted by Thomas Jefferson, America’s first notable (or notorious) wine connoiseur. They’re on Twitter @visitCville if you want to check them out. I’m excited to have the opportunity to go. The keynote speakers will be Jancis Robinson  , a giant by anyone’s measure in the wine world, an outstanding blogger and editor of the must-have wine reference for any serious enthusiast, The Oxford Companion to Wine, and Eric Asimov, wine writer for the New York Times. I seriously cannot wait to see them. There will be a live blogging event several wineries will be presenting and pouring their wines for small groups of bloggers who will then live blog their impressions. Watch out for my feeble attempts at that!

There will be an International Wine Night with wines being poured by:

Wines of Chile

Wines of South Africa

Aveníu Brands

Vibrant Rioja

Planet Bordeaux

As if this was not enough, there is also a dinner at Monticello and tour of area vineyards. Oh yeah, and there will be sessions on blogging too. This really will be a wonderful opportunity for me in my own wine education and I will be happy to share that with you.

About WiningWays

Wine writing, appreciation, and education, including tasting, evaluation, and food pairings a specialty. Member, Society of Wine Educators.
This entry was posted in Shameless Self-Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

