Palate Press Story – Westport Rivers

Palate Press has given me the opportunity to write about one of my favorite regional wineries. Worth the trip from anywhere in New England.

http://palatepress.com/2011/11/wine/westport-rivers-not-your-typical-regional-wines/#respond

About WiningWays

Wine writing, appreciation, and education, including tasting, evaluation, and food pairings a specialty. Member, Society of Wine Educators.
This entry was posted in coastal wine trail, Massachusetts Wine, New England, Recommendation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Palate Press Story – Westport Rivers

  1. I’ve been to Westport Rivers and yes it was worth the trip for me. I really enjoyed their NV Pineau de Pinot. It was quite good and very reminiscent of a cognac with fig and honey nuances, well at least for me – very tasty. I’m on my quest to visit all or almost all of the New England wineries. I’ve hit about 45 so far. Any recommendations on “must” visit wineries?

    • WiningWays says:

      Thanks for taking the time to comment. Pretty much all of the members of the Coastal Wine Trail offer a great experience (see post:http://wp.me/p1xVl7-6i). Turtle Creek in Lincoln is excellent too.

      • I just visited Hardwick Vineyards & Winery and Mineral Hills on Friday and had a great time at both wineries. Seems that in MA a TV show called “Chronicle” (or at least I think that was the name) will review “things to do” in the state and when I arrived at Hardwick around 1 pm the sommelier asked if I was here because of the show. When they found out I was from CT they understood why I didn’t know about the show. Anyway, they were busy to say the least and glad that I decided to visit them.

        I was quite impressed with both wineries and at Hardwick I tried their Quabbin Native both chilled and warmed with mulling spices, both were awesome – don’t know which one I liked better. At Mineral Hills I was lucky enough to get a barrel tasting of their 2010 Cabernet Sauvignon and this will be a show stopper if he can keep the pH at the level he wants. New England wines have come a long way and I only see them getting better with age – no pun intended:)

        So, I will look up Turtle Creek and visit them soon based on your recommendation.

  2. Thank you for such a fantastic web site. On what other blog could anyone get this kind of information written in such an insightful way? I have a presentation that I am just now working on, and I have been looking for such info.
    Weight Loss Plan.

Leave a Reply

