Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS

My story about Torrontes, the signature WHITE wine from Argentina in the February 15th Palate Press. See tasting notes below for suggested wines. We’ll be talking about Torrontes on Twitter’s #winechat on Wednesday April 25, 2012 at 9pm EST. Read about #winechat, a fast-paced weekly virtual tasting every Wednesday on Twitter on Marie Payton’s Life of Vines blog. Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS. Suggested Wines: Luigi Bosca Finca La Linda 2010 Torrontes – from Cafayate in the Salta province this wine is grown at some of the highest elevations in the world (5,600’ asl). 100% Torrontes, light yellow coloring tinged with green reflections this wine exhibits great balance between the floral and fruity aromas, and matches the flavors on the palate of white flowers, citrus and peach. An elegant expression of the Torrontes grape. Cold fermented with selected yeasts. Once stabilized it is only lightly filtered before bottling. La Linda comes in at 13.9% abv and intended to be consumed within two years of bottling. Doña Paula Estate 2010 Torrontes – Grown in Cafayate in the Salta province the extraordinary altitude and thermal exchange work together to concentrate the aromas of this native Argentinian wine. Slightly golden in color, more floral than fruity on the nose, citrus on the palate, this wine is grown in the old world style of the trellised parrón, with furrow irrigation fed by melt water from the Andes Mountains. The grapes are harvested at three different times throughout the growing season, fermented in concrete vats at low temperatures and blended together before bottling. Harmonious components. Bodegas Catena Zapata Alamos 2010 Torrontes – This 100% Torrontes, from vineyards in Cafayate in the Salta province this wine has intense floral aromas, similar to a Gewurztraminer. Fuller mouthfeel, with tropical fruits on the palate along with peach and some minerality, and spice. Lightly pressed and racked right from the press before cold fermentation. Some barrel aging in French and American oak. 13.5% abv. Consistently high scores from the wine press and value priced. A dependable winner. Will not disappoint. Michel Torino Don David 2010 Torrontes – The 100% Torrontes is from the Cafayate Valley in the Salta province. It has that characteristic orange muscat aroma similar to a Gewurztraminer or Viognier, with a white pepper spice on the nose and palate. Orange, lime, and grapefruit flavors. 13.9% abv. Grown using sustainable farming practices and hand harvested, this wine is crisp, refreshing, and elegant. Cielo 2007 Estate Grown Torrontes – From the Famatina Valley in La Rioja in the Mendoza province this full-bodied wine has a satiny mouthfeel, showing softer acidity from aging but not flabby. Great floral nose balanced by the tropical fruity palate. Grown at the lower altitude of approximately 1,900’ in more fertile, well-irrigated soil than the northern regions Cielo has 14% abv. Valentin Bianchi Sensual 2009 Torrontes – From Rama Caida, San Rafael in Mendoza this 100% Torrontes grows at 2,200’ and is twice sorted after hand picking. Cold fermented in stainless steel. A zippy, tropical fruit and apple palate to match the orange blossom and spice aromas. Refreshing acidity. Well balanced. 12.5% abv. Crios de Susana Balbo 2010 Torrontes – 100% Torrontes from the Salta province, with some Mendoza Torrontes in the blend. Aromas of peach and white flowers, on the palate, citrus and honeydew. Mouth-watering, refreshing acidity. Great food wine, shellfish, spicy dishes, soft cheeses. Tremendous quality:price ratio. High points by anyone’s rating system.

About WiningWays

Wine writing, appreciation, and education, including tasting, evaluation, and food pairings a specialty. Member, Society of Wine Educators.
This entry was posted in Appreciation, Education and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS

  1. matt cromie says:

    matt cromie
    Just came across your page whilst seraching matt cromie site I must say you have some great examples of work well done!

  2. Very well written information. It will be supportive to everyone who utilizes it, as well as yours truly :). Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

  3. noblewines says:

    Nice job…I like how you noted the lower elevation of the Cielo and the Bosca. Salta has some of the worlds highest vineyards. For centuries no one thought wine could grow at altitudes above 2500 feet. I think Susana also has some of the very high altitude vineyards too.

    Have a good time tonight. I’ll bounce in when possible.

  4. koaorpa says:

    Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  5. fjkasakwa says:

    Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  6. Excellent post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  7. baju bayi says:

    Excellent post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  8. Excellent post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful information particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  9. Nice post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  10. baju anak says:

    Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays I was recommended this website by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWaysBest Regards SchaadAndy

  11. baju bayi says:

    Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  12. Great post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  13. Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  14. click here says:

    Thank you with regard to an extremely informative web site. Where else may I get that kind of information designed in this kind of an ideal method? I’ve the challenge that I am simply right now running on, and I’ve already been on the look out with regard to this kind of information. their website

  15. Writing isn’t an easy task for everyone, but you make it look easy Every point you have made here is well written and informative. I concur with your thoughts here.

  16. baju bayi says:

    Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You’re wonderful! Thanks! your article about Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWaysBest Regards SchaadAndy

  17. pakaian anak says:

    Great post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain info for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  18. baju bayi says:

    Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays I was suggested this blog by my cousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble. You are incredible! Thanks! your article about Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWaysBest Regards Nick

  19. Great post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  20. Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  21. Nice post at Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed! Extremely helpful information specially the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was seeking this certain information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  22. Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You’re incredible! Thanks! your article about Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWaysBest Regards SchaadAndy

  23. Torrontes Proves Argentina More Than Just a One-Trick Pony : PALATE PRESS | WiningWays Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  24. Cordell says:

    I wanted to thank you for this good read!! I definitely loved every little bit of
    it. I have you book-marked to check out new things you post…

  25. It is really a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you simply shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

