Deadbolt California blend not just a winter red

DeadBolt_281highTime for me to get back to my wines. I owe a few shout outs to folks who have been kind enough to send me samples. As always I will give full disclosure about samples but my policy is to not write about wines I did not enjoy. I prefer to communicate that privately to the sender. My mother did teach me that if you don’t have anything nice to say it’s better to say nothing at all.

While I did try this wine last winter I do believe it will have a place at summer cookouts. My first experience with Deadbolt wine was in February during the big snow dump. On the night of February 9th we were hunkered down, propane camp stove, candles, batteries, shovels, and all manner of storm prep supplies gathered with us awaiting the big storm that would ultimately dump nearly three feet of snow by morning. We sat in the kitchen playing games, waiting for the lights to go out and I thought that night was appropriate to open my bottle of Deadbolt. Pernod Ricard USA released this proprietary red blend in October 2012. Deadbolt is one of those big, bold, jammy, fruity full-bodied red wines from California, a blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Zinfandel, Petite Syrah and Syrah. It is deep, dark purplish red in the glass with cherry, plum, mocha flavors. The mouthfeel is velvety smooth. At 13% abv you definitely get all that bold fruit without the typical California heat. I put this wine in the same category as Apothic Red. The packaging is funky and bold. A second taste this spring has me thinking that this wine will do well with burgers on the grill and chilly summer nights by the fire pit. It retails for around $16/btl but I was able to find it on sale in the Massachusetts market for $10.99. For the summer this wine could also stand up to a little chill or as a base for sangria. Cheers!

About WiningWays

Wine writing, appreciation, and education, including tasting, evaluation, and food pairings a specialty. Member, Society of Wine Educators.
This entry was posted in Recommendation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deadbolt California blend not just a winter red

  1. thanks for your review of Deadbolt. I just had a bottle and very much enjoyed it. I linked to your blog entry from my blog since I couldn’t improve on your review.

  2. Pingback: From the Bar – three more wines and a cocktail of our own | Club Schadenfreude

Leave a Reply

